Menu Bottom

About Cannon County
Cannon County was established, by the Tennessee State Legislature on January 31, 1836. The County was formed from portions of Rutherford, Smith, and Warren Counties.  The County bears the name of Tennessee Governor Newton Cannon. 

Cannon County has a population of 13,981, according to the 2013 census. The County seat is Woodbury, with a population of 2,868 citizens.

Cannon County is part of the Nashville-Davidson-Murfreesboro-Franklin Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Geographically, over one-half of Cannon County lies in the Central Basin, and the remainder lies on the Highland Rim. The land is a dynamic setting mixed with highlands and valleys, with mountain streams that flow through the area.  The diverse, vibrant beauty of the area is picturesque, peaceful, and awe-inspiring.